August 10

Tags

Dignity I

So I told you I’m an artist, right?

Well, time to update you on what I’m currently working on.

It’s a self portrait!

(It’s not finished)

I know it’s a little egotistical but I feel that only really legit artists have a self-portrait. For example,

Van Gogh.

gogh.self-orsay (1)

Frida.

Frida_Kahlo_(self_portrait)

Pablo Picasso.

self-portrait-1907

Andy Warhol.

self-portrait-64

See! It’s not just me!

Erika Farkas, an accomplished artist herself, says “for some artists, self-portraits are very personal, they are open windows into the artists’ soul, if you will. We perceive the world and experience emotions in different ways. To express a certain feeling or emotion, we can only do it from our own point of view. And sometimes it doesn’t make much sense to others, but it makes perfect sense to us.”

She has a cool blog with a post depicting the different artists that have spent most of their entire artistic career making self portraits.

Not that I’m going to do that. I think once every few years is good enough for me.

I’m still trying to figure out what my style is as a painter. Whether I want to focus on realism or abstract, or maybe a little combination of both.

Maybe that’s why I’m doing a self portrait. If I can figure out who I am maybe I can figure out what I’m supposed to be doing with my life.

Maybe.

But here it is.

The beautemous Roxie.

2015-07-09 20.25.48

Did I mention that the painting is 5′ by 5′?

I don’t know what that says about me…

It’s not perfect just yet. The proportions are still slightly off but that gets fixed in the next stages.

It’s going to be half abstract and half real.

My face is going to be highly realistic while my hair will remain white with no dimension. The background will be an abstract rendition of the universe.

Heavy stuff, right?

The next phase is the underpainting of the face. I’ll update you once I finish that.