Hidden words of wisdom

This week I switched bedrooms at my mom’s house. And it is about time.

I was getting all kinds of cramped in that last bedroom I was in.

My new room. This is what I call spacious.

Now it’s time to party.

party time

Really it’s not even just one room I’m getting.

My mom is giving me the whole downstairs. She hopes to turn it into a livable apartment for me.

AKA my mom thinks I’m going to be living with her forever.

I feel a little ashamed at how things have progressed but at the same time I feel like I’m moving up in the world.

I even get my own house entrance.

How cool is that??!

Sunglasses amazing

Among my cleaning and packing and rearranging, I found a little treasure of mine.

It’s a ring I had custom made almost a year ago. I found it underneath my shoe rack at the bottom of my closet. I used to wear it all the time but the culinary school I was going didn’t let us wear any jewelry and I guess it got lost shortly after I took it off.

But we’d finally been reunited!

hug epic

I had put a lot of thought into this ring. I wanted what I engraved on it be sort of my motto for life.

Here’s what I had engraved….

“One ring to rule them all…

Ooops, wrong ring.

Maybe it’s my love of LOTR that inspires my need for my own ring.

Woah.

I just therapied myself.

Therapy

No but really.

What I really had engraved was:

“To Know Thyself”

“Be Thyself”

Now I’d like to think I was smart enough to come up with this. I sort of did.

I’ll explain.

Thales, one of the first greek philosophers and considered one of the seven wise men of Greece, was once asked what the most difficult thing was.

His reply?

“Know thyself”

I mean out of all the things this guy could have said. “Know Thyself”?

What about wrestling alligators?

alligator wrestling

Or figuring out the theory of the universe?

Stephen Hawking

Or getting a guy to ask you out? (Am I right??)

When men flirt with women

That struggle is for sure real.

But this guy, Thales, is a huge wise guy so I don’t doubt he thought of all of these things and still he answered:

“Know Thyself”

And when I thought about it the more it made sense. And then I was like, “I’m the worst at knowing myself”. I mean, hello! Whole major life crisis here. If I knew myself, I’d know what I want to do with my life and I am so far from that it’s ridiculous. So this quote really shook me and I wanted to learn more about it. Through my research I came across a quote by wonderful Irish writer Oscar Wilde.

“‘Know Thyself’ was written over the portal of the antique world, over the portal of the new world ‘Be Thyself’, shall be written'”

Mindblown

Wilde was saying that while the old world sat and pondered, the new world will be one of action. Rather than “knowing” ourselves, we’ll be out there “being” ourselves.

So I put the two together, melding the old world with the new, “To know thyself, be thyself”. It changes the meaning a little bit but I like it. If I act true to myself I will eventually know myself.

And I have to know who I am.

I feel that the fact that I found this ring now is a sign that I’m moving in the right direction.

I’m being myself.

Therefore, I’m one step closer to knowing myself.

And that’s all I want.