Sleep is for losers

Okay so I missed posting yesterday.

Obviously

I didn’t plan to but thus is the way of my life.

In reality, I’ve been having a rough week. I have this condition called Idiopathic Hypersomnia.

I know, I still have a hard time pronouncing it myself.

Basically, think of insomnia where you can’t fall asleep. Now take hypersomnia. This is where all you want to do is sleep.

Simple enough, right?

Yeah it sucks.

raspberry

I don’t have the worst case of hypersomnia out there so I’m grateful for that. I pretty much just have to battle overwhelming fatigue everyday of my life.

Most days it’s manageable. I take some really nice stimulants and as long as I remember to go to sleep by 10 each night I’m your average lazy person each day.

There is the chance that my symptoms may just be the beginning signs of narcolepsy BUT if I think like that I have a really hard time getting out of bed in the morning.

So I just like to take my life day by day, thankful for what I have right now.

Just Keep Swimming

So occasionally I’m going to miss some days. And I’m learning to accept that.

I mean, I know why this week has been rougher than the ones before. It’s simple.

Dragon Age: Origins.

I bought this game almost a year ago and I still haven’t finished it. My brother says I have a tendency to start a lot of videogames and never finish them. And he’s right. I do. Except for Mass Effect. I love those games!

It’s actually a goal of mine to go back and finish all of the videogames I’ve started.

It’s sort of a noble cause.

Really

Okay it’s not but it’s a goal and I’m accomplishing it.

Which is what’s been getting me in trouble.

When I get into videogames, I go all in. I barely eat when I play. It’s just all consuming.

Maybe it’s not healthy but man it sure is fun.

Hardcore videogamer

But when it comes time to turn the game off and go to bed, I don’t want to. I don’t know. I just turn into an 8-year-old. Bed times are for losers! I want a giant stuffed animal Scooby-Doo! I’m only going to eat Mac’n’cheese and chicken nuggets for the rest of my life!

Reverting back to 23 year-old Roxie.

Actually I still kind of think the same way. I still kind of want a giant Scooby-Doo and if only I could eat Mac’n’cheese and chicken nuggets the rest of my life.

And bed times definitely are for losers.

I mean, I know I’m going to feel lousy the next morning anyway. Will it really hurt if I feel a little more lousy in the morning?

My answer to this depends on what time of day it is.

Night time where I’m finishing just one more level of Dragon Age: Of course it doesn’t matter, Silly! Why not just pull an all-nighter?! Trust me you won’t regret this.

Morning after: I regret everything. Why am I even alive? Tell work I quit because I’m going to sleep until I’m old and crusty!

I've made a huge mistake

As compared to my normal morning of: Aw man, it’s morning?! That’s so stupid.

Big difference.

So here’s the moral:

I don’t care if my little 8-year-old self throws itself a little mind tantrum and calls me the loserest losing loser alive. Tonight we’re going to sleep on time.

End of story.