The Fat Tax

I’ve been holding out on you guys.

I have this secret I’ve been keeping from you for the past month.

Tell me

I have a gym membership.

Now for many plus size girls a gym membership is one of those things we all have at one point.

It’s the fat tax.

You know, the monthly fee we pay for telling ourselves we’re going to be skinny one day. That we’ll actually work out. And then a week after perfect attendance we give up and never go back to the gym.

ron

Come on, we’ve all been guilty of the fat tax. I know, I’ve had several gym memberships over the years and I’ve still yet to see any real success.

But here’s where my thinking has been flawed.

What if I measure success differently? What if instead of measuring in pounds or inches lost, maybe I measure by how I feel about myself? Maybe I measure by the fact that I can proudly tell all the concern trollers that I’m healthy. Or maybe I measure success by being able to run a 5k.

I’ve decided to love my weight come what may.

I might as well be healthy, right??

200_s

And that’s my real goal.

And I’m proud to tell you that for the I have gone to the gym every weekday of October (and for all the weekdays of November too).

I haven’t lost weight but I hear it’s too early for that just yet. I have lost some inches though so I’m happy about that.

But what really gets me is that I just feel good about myself.

I’m doing the best I can, and I can love myself for that.

So if you’re having trouble getting to the gym, the first thing I would check is if you really love yourself. That was my first big step and the thing that keeps me going. I’m not working out to lose weight.

I work out because I love my body, fat or skinny.

mind-blown-gif

If I lose weight, that’s all bonus.

So my fat tax is really my health tax. It’s my feel-good-about-my-body tax. It’s my take-that-concern-trollers tax.

I’m healthy and fat and beautiful, just the way God made me.