Baptism-versary

This past Saturday I attended a baptism in my ward. I’ll admit I didn’t really know the guy being baptized but I wanted to go and show some support from the ward family. I probably should’ve introduced myself but he seemed a little overwhelmed so I’m setting aside the introductions for a later date.

But as the baptism was going on, with all the talks and special musical numbers, I was thinking about my own baptism.

You see, I was baptized on November 20, 1999, over 16 years ago now.

aOf4I1V.gif

And I can’t really remember anything specific about it. Honestly, I have a bad memory when it comes to being little.

But I do remember my bishop’s interview after my baptism.

He asked me how I felt when I came up out of the water.

And I remember my answer very clearly.

“I felt very warm.”

The bishop went on to explain to me that that was the Holy Ghost testifying that I was on the right path.

And I thought about Darius, the man being baptized, and wondering if he was feeling warm after getting out of the water too.

It’s been 16 years since I was baptized and I’m thinking about all the ups and downs I’ve had with my testimony. There have been many highs and many lows. And I thought about whether I would get baptized again if I was asked today.

And I would.

100%.

tumblr_lqdb3exJSJ1qfmx06.gif

I realize I was only 8 at the time of my baptism but I’m glad I did it then. I didn’t fully appreciate the covenants I was making but I grew into them.

I grew into them when I turned 12 and could start attending the temple on a limited basis.

I grew into them when I turned 14 and got my patriarchal blessing.

I’m growing into them even now as I’m preparing to get my endowments this next January.

Baptism isn’t a one time commitment. It’s everyday that you live and stand for Christ.

And I continue to grow when I stand as a witness for Christ each day.

Baptism is about enduring to the end.

“Unless a man shall endure to the end, in following the example of the Son of the living God, he cannot be saved” (2 Ne. 31:16)

And 16 years later, I can proudly say that though I have wavered, I have endured.

And that’s all that matters.

If you are struggling, remember your baptism. Ask yourself if you would do it again. If you’re thinking about getting baptized, know that it doesn’t come in a day.

It’s line upon line and precept upon precept that we grow in the gospel.

And above all it’s enduring.