Pyromaniac

You can’t go wrong with some good ol’ Kings of Leon.

I’ve been a big fan of theirs since they released their album “Only by the Night”, which I know doesn’t make me a “true” Kings of Leon fan because they released like a bajillion albums before that one.

I’m sorry. We can’t all be hipsters.

Hipster-meme-back-to-the-future

Once I had heard of them I was instantly in love. The grittiness of Caleb’s voice, the strong guitar riffs, the driving yet danceable drum beats, all of it screaming rock and roll.

arousal

There was one song in particular that I came to love. It was off their next album (technically their 5th album) called “Come Around Sundown”. It was the song called “Pyro”.

I mean, have you ever heard something and immediately felt the chill of inspiration come to you. It stunned me enough to quiet me and pulled on emotions that needed an immediate release. Even now as I’m listening to it on repeat, I’m fighting the urge to go full creative mode.

giphy

I immediately wanted to do a cover of the song. However, after spending an hour with it, I just didn’t feel I was doing the song any justice.

It wasn’t until I started doing open mics that it changed. There was a girl I met there, Adrienne. She seemed like she’d be like the other girls I encountered at open mics, decent voice but lacking originality and emotion. Boy was I wrong though.

She knocked my socks off.

woah1

I’m a little ashamed to say it but my acoustic cover of the song mimics very closely to how she performed it. I tried tweaking it to make it different but her version just nailed it.

I’ve put together the acoustic version for you to hear. Adrienne if you’re listening this one is for you.

I didn’t want to just leave it at the acoustic level though. I mean, I love a good acoustic cover but there’s so much you can do when you go in and more instrumentation and effects.

I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. Here for your satisfaction is my produced version of “Pyro”.

To further your love for this song I just want to leave you with a quote from Caleb Followill on his inspiration for the song. From an interview with clashmusic.com,

“I had actually written some verses because I was watching this piece on these radical Christians that live up in the mountains and somehow the FBI got involved and pretty much went and killed them. And so I started writing kind of about that and about a guy that was kind of fed up with it all and he thought that the world that he was living in wasn’t the perfect world to him so he kind of goes and burns it down. It’s just one of those songs where it’s like it starts out with someone thinking they know how it’s supposed to be and at the end it’s like, ‘I can’t even be that way.'”

I just… I love these guys.