Meet Sarah

Meet Sarah. She’s an exuberant Army brat now-turned artist with nothing but love for life. She’s been married for three years and is now expecting a baby girl this summer.

Sarah 1

“A lot of people complain that moving around a lot was really difficult for them but I think it gave me really good life skills. I never minded having to start over and meet new people because now I can look back at all of the relationships I’ve had and it’s not something that everybody gets to experience. I like having friends that live all over the world. I’ve lived in Germany and Hawaii and everywhere in between. You should see my snapchat. New Years I get to see the ball drop in Germany or the countdown in Dubai and everywhere in the world and it’s really cool. The whole experience has definitely benefited my life.”

Sarah 2

“I have a different story than a lot of people when I first set out. I grew up with a family that didn’t really prepare me for being an adult. They literally told me that I should go from the protection of my parents to the protection of my husband and that there was no in between. They literally said those exact words. So I was never prepared for that in between. And honestly there’s no classes in high school about this stuff either. When you graduate high school you know how to graph things with calculus or whatever but you don’t know one thing about filling out your fafsa or how to file your taxes or get a bank account or how to save up and buy a car. Unless you have parents that are super willing to support you and help you out, you’re out on your own which I was. You have to figure out a way to get things together. Where are you going to live when you’re trying to work? You have to start with something. That part was really hard for me and I was completely unprepared for that.”

Sarah 3

“I am really good at fine art. It’s something that I feel I’m really talented at but it doesn’t excite me. It feels like a chore. Once I have the idea and I start on it it’s really fun for about a day but after that I just want to be done with it. I don’t like feeling confined to that time requirement it involves. It’s not fun for me. People keep telling me to go to art school, you’re really good at this, you need to do this full time but that just felt like the worst decision ever. Something that does excite me is photography. It’s something that to me gets the same exact result that a drawing gets without all the time. It’s a more immediate art form. And honestly, when you’re a photographer you’re there for every life event. You’re never going to photograph somebody’s break-up or a death or something like that. Being a general event photographer, which is what I want to do, I’ve been there for a birth. I’ve been there for graduation pictures. It’s always something that is really exciting. I’ve been there for weddings. I’ve done engagement pictures. There’s always a celebration and that’s really great to be a part of. You get to capture that story, the best part of someone’s life so far. That’s one of the most rewarding parts right there.”

Sarah 4

“I don’t have any regrets in my life. The reason why is because I wouldn’t be where I am today without every decision I’ve made. It might be cheesy but it’s true. I’ve had some really bad things happen in my life but if those bad situations hadn’t happened, although they were really hard to go through, it wouldn’t lead to where I am now. My young adult life was really hard and sometimes I wonder what would have happened if it had been just a little easier. But if it had been easier I wouldn’t have moved to Arizona by myself and I wouldn’t have met my husband and I wouldn’t be pregnant. I wouldn’t trade anything for my little family.”

Sarah 5

“When I first found out I was pregnant there was a mix of emotions. It’s unbelievable at first. I’m happy about it, definitely. Now that I have this human inside of me I’ve become more of an inward thinker. I feel like I’m a vessel to something bigger than myself. It’s also really weird because I have this human being growing inside of me. I am going to be giving birth in twenty weeks and I’ll be honest, I’m a little freaked out.”

Sarah 6

“There’s this post I found online a couple weeks ago. It talked about things to say to your daughter and things to not say. It was stuff I hadn’t really thought about before. You know you shouldn’t say to your daughter ‘oh, it looks like you’re gaining weight’ or ‘you could lose a couple pounds’ but I had never heard that you shouldn’t say ‘you’re looking really skinny’ or ‘you look like you’ve lost a lot of weight’. But they’re right. If we’re saying those things we’re perpetuating the idea that their happiness depends on their size. Things we should be saying are ‘you look really healthy today’ or ‘I notice that you’re glowing. You must be happy’. We need to focus on things like that. We need to advocate for hiking because it’s a stress reliever. We need to support playing team sports because you learn how to be on a team. We need to focus on things that are self-esteem builders. We shouldn’t be feeding into the media that teaches everybody to be obsessed with their bodies. We should definitely teach our kids how to be healthy but at the same time be able to teach them that their happiness is more important than their size.”

 

Sarah 7

“I don’t know how I would define beauty. As an artist one of my biggest struggles is defining beauty. A lot of people think of beauty as tangible but it’s not. Beauty is something that makes you feel a certain way. Beauty is something that makes you feel good when you look at it. But the problem is you can find beauty in things that don’t make you feel good. Maybe there’s beauty in something because it makes somebody else feel good. Maybe there’s a piece of art that isn’t your style but it’s beautiful because it was able to inspire somebody else. Of course beauty isn’t something superficial like your clothes or makeup, but it’s not just something inward either. I think it’s something artists have been trying to find since the beginning of time. It’s the ultimate search.”

Sarah 8

“Something I like about myself is that when I set my mind on something then I’m going to learn how to do it and I’m going to excel at it and I do excel at it. I pretty much can be good at anything if I set my mind to it.”

Sarah 9

“I don’t know if I could describe myself in one sentence. This isn’t myspace. I have no idea.”

Sarah 10

“The legacy that I hope to leave behind is one of kindness. I hope I inspire people to be the fruits of the spirit which is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, faithfulness, and self-control. I hope that I show those qualities myself. I hope that I’ve raised my children the way they were supposed to be.”